top of page

Writing Turned Healing...📝

Updated: Feb 22, 2021

This transition into Womanhood... has had its challenges and its victories.


For those of you who are not aware, I am a Epidemiologist/Research Scientist. Writing is my bread and butter. Publishing scientific articles in journals are a researcher's currency. So you would think writing that I would have more of an affinity to writing... but that wasn't the case. I love researching and analyzing data, but I've always avoided writing for a few reasons. However, in 2019 I realized just how impactful personal writing would be in my life.


Writing for my career versus my personal life are completely different experiences and approaches. I can easily regurgitate statistics and summarize associations between the environment and disease. However, ruminating over my thoughts and emotions always seemed a bit daunting.


On February 9th, 2019 I remember listening to one of my favorite Pastor preach about "Write The Vision" (Habakkuk 2:2) at church.


"Writing the vision" is transcribing the intentions for your life. Your goals, desires, aspirations, dreams, worries, fears, and all of the above. As you write, you are planning your future. I believe deep down, we know exactly what we are capable of. And there are even moments we catch a glimpse of the potential we have and the women we truly desire to become. However, we sometimes limit our potential due to how we may think we are perceived and will be received by others.

But it all starts with writing... So on February 22, 2019 I "Wrote the Vision" for my life in 2019 and beyond. I wrote about all areas of my life but I wanted to share a few.






Mental Health

  1. I declare that I will have less moments of depression in 2019 than 2018. I will elevate my mind daily with motivational talks/encouragement.

PhD Journey

  1. I declare that by the end of June, I will have my dissertation project and will have the dissertation proposal started.

  2. I declare that I will ace the qualifying exam.

  3. I declare that I will breeze through the fellowship (Civic Analytics Fellowship) and I am able to handle everything on my plate.

  4. I declare that I will far exceed expectations for the fellowship.

In looking over all of the statements I made last year, almost all of them have come to fruition. And most of them began with the statement, "I declare".


The power of writing. The power of manifestation. The power of visualization.
 

This year writing has been the avenue towards my overall well being and healing of trauma. You know the feeling you get in your throat when you're about to cry or want to say something but not given the opportunity to? It's sort of like you have a knot in your throat.


Last month while remembering a past trauma, I was stuck... literally. Extremely restless with moments of crying. Oh and that knot in my throat wouldn't go away no matter how many times I cried, listened to music, mediated, and prayed. I was honestly about to give up, but something told me to write. As I started writing my thoughts and emotions, that knot became smaller and smaller... until it ultimately dissipated. Just like magic ✨.


Writing is now apart of my daily morning routine. I sit with my pen and journal and my tea with Meditative Mind (https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCM0YvsRfYfsniGAhjvYFOSA) playing in the background... and I let my mind wander where it will. I empty my thoughts, review decisions I've made, set intentions for the future... and just be.


And so I write and will never stop writing. Whether in my personal journal or for Soul Hugs. It's my therapy. I get to sit & sift through my emotions, judgements, limiting beliefs - and realize that I have and will continue to conquer them all. Can't stop won't stop.


This month I plan to write the vision for the next 6 months of 2020 for my:

  1. Mental Health

  2. Physical Health

  3. Soul Hugs

  4. PhD Journey

  5. Personal Life

There's power in your pen. There's power in your thoughts. There's power in your writing. Manifest, Sis! ✨


I've included some journal prompts below. Happy Writing!

  1. Envision your life and describe every detail. What are your day-to-day activities?

  2. What was the biggest change you made within the last 6 months?

  3. What were your top three personal and professional accomplishments within the last year? How did they make you feel?

  4. What were three of your biggest personal or professional challenges? How did you feel when you were faced with a challenge?

  5. What do you see yourself doing and experiencing in one year? Five years?

  6. What does “success” mean to you? How would you know that you’ve had a “successful life”?

  7. Picture yourself brining in 2021. What would you like to look back on in 2020?

  8. What time of day are you most productive? Why do you think that is?

  9. What do you want people to remember about you?

  10. What controls your decisions in your life: mind, heart, or gut?

  11. What are anxious or apprehensive about?

  12. Which friendships make you feel the happiest and most empowered? Are there any friendships that leave you feeling sad, self-conscious, or disappointed?

  13. What are three things that make you the most stressed or anxious? Is there anything you can do to alleviate that stress?

  14. What are three things that make you feel the most relaxed and happy? How can you do more of that!?

  15. What are your top three goals for relationships, personal development, and professional development?

 

"My mission in life is not merely to survive, but to thrive; and to do so with some passion, some compassion, some humor, and some style." - Maya Angelou

Xoxo,

Tabitha

38 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Your Voice... is Your Power. Your voice is YOU.

As I found myself, I found my voice. Journey with me right quick... Now I've always been and have known to speak up for myself. To take the lead and to be the initiator. But last year I guess I realiz

bottom of page